September 19 – October 25

Since 1974, when community watercolor artists approached then Director Marion Metsopoulos with the idea of a national watercolor show, Foothills Art Center has established its own interpretation of this exhibition by introducing “watermedia” as its emphasis. The goal was, and still is, to reach beyond the tradition of pure watercolor and embrace innovation in water-based media that now includes acrylic, casein, gouache, egg tempera, and mixed media.

Now in its 42nd year this is a perennial favorite of Foothills Art Center’s members and guests.   The exhibition will feature approximately 70 works of art by national artists working in watermedia. In 2015, the juror will be internationally renowned artist and teacher Mark Mehaffey. He will be conducting a watercolor workshop from August 4-6, 2015 at Foothills Art Center.

Exhibiting Artists

Patricia Abraham – Roseville, CA
Melissa Adkison – Novato, CA
Ruth Armitage – Oregon City, OR – www.rutharmitage.com
Denise Athanas – Mt. Pleasant, SC www.deniseathanas.com
Linda Baker – Charleston, SC www.lindabaker.biz
Carole Barnes – Boulder, CO – www.carolebarnesartist.com
Miles Batt, Sr – Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Joe Beckner – Lakewood, CO
Frederick Bidigare – Fenton, MI
Marilyn Bourbon – Coppell, TX www.marilynsearsbourbon.com
Sarah Bouwsma – Portland, OR www.neuhengen.net/sarah
Jerry Bowman – Lawton, MI bowmanwatercolor.com
Judy Boyd – Santa Fe, NM www.birds-by-boyd.com
Peggy Brown – Nashville, IN www.peggybrownart.com
Tanis Bula – Denver, CO www.tanisbula.com
Chris Campbell – Boulder, CO www.chriscampbellartist.com
Jim Carpenter – Gainesville, FL www.jimcarpenterfineart.com
David Castle – Columbus, OH www.davidcastleart.com
Tim Collins – Laramie, WY
Kathleen Conover – Marquette, MI www.KathleenConover.com
Nina Cravens-Fry – Pueblo, CO www.ncfry-artist.com
Elaine Daily-Birnbaum – Madison, WI
Gail Delger – Mckinney, TX
Pat Dews – Hobe Sound, FL www.patdews.com
Kathleen Florance – Rockland, ME www.kathleenflorancestudio.com
Paul Foster – Centennial, CO
Carol Frye – Lakeland, FL
Thomas Funderburk – Starkville, MS www.brentfunderburk.com
Laurie Goldstein-Warren – Buckhannon, WV www.warrenwatercolors.com
Peter Gooch – Bryan, OH
Steve Griggs – Centennial, CO
Pamela Gilmore Hake – Elizabeth, CO
Lynne Hardwick – Summerville, SC www.lynnehardwick.com

Marilyn Hill – San Pablo, CA www.marilynhill.com
Shelley Hull – Denver, CO www.shelleyhull.com
John James – Arlington, TX
Shirley Kleppe – Scottsdale, AZ www.lenseon.com
Karen Knutson – Eden Prairie, MN www.karenknutson.com
Chris Krupinski – Fairfax, VA www.chriskrupinski.com
Robbie Laird – Lake Almanor, CA www.RobbieLairdArtStudio.com
Jan Ledbetter – Williamsburg, VA www.janledbetter.com
Terry Maxwell – Emporia, KS
Mark Mcdermott – Anchorage, AK www.markmcdermottart.com
Susan Montague – Denver, CO www.montaguearts.com
Kay Moore – Parker, CO
Pat Moseuk – Concord, CA www.pmjstudios.com
Barbara Olsen – Fort Collins, CO
Douglas Osa – Olathe, KS
Brian Paulsen – Grand Forks, ND
Gregory Porcaro – Whitewater, WI
Karen Poulson – Broomfield, CO
Claudia Roulier – Idledale, CO www.claudiaroulier.com
Don Sayers – Niwot, CO www.donsayersart.com
Darcy Scott – Bloomfield Hills, MI www.darcyscott.com
Catherine Scott – Berthoud, CO www.CatherineScottStudio.com
Ashley Harrison Smith – Silver Spring, MD www.smithvox.com
Carol Staub – St. Lucie West, FL www.CarolStaub.com
Dashuai Sun – Elmhurst, NY www.dashuaisun.com
Brenda Turner – Savannah, GA
Myrna Wacknov – Foster City, CA www.myrnawacknov.com
Soon Warren – Fort Worth, TX www.soonwarren.com
Chavanthop Watanakul – Sedalia, CO
Lorraine Watry – Colorado Springs, CO www.LWatryStudio.com
David Wicks – Morrison, CO www.wicksart.com
Dianne Widom – Erie, CO www.diannewidom.com
Barbara Yoerg – Las Vegas, NV www.yoergwatercolor.com